Rule of Wolves (King of Scars Duology Book 2)

Rule of Wolves (King of Scars Duology Book 2)

by Leigh Bardugo (Author)

The Grishaverse will be coming to Netflix soon with Shadow and Bone, an original series!

The wolves are circling and a young king will face his greatest challenge in the explosive finale of the instant #1 New York Times–bestselling King of Scars Duology.

The Demon King. As Fjerda’s massive army prepares to invade, Nikolai Lantsov will summon every bit of his ingenuity and charm—and even the monster within—to win this fight. But a dark threat looms that cannot be defeated by a young king’s gift for the impossible.

The Stormwitch. Zoya Nazyalensky has lost too much to war. She saw her mentor die and her worst enemy resurrected, and she refuses to bury another friend. Now duty demands she embrace her powers to become the weapon her country needs. No matter the cost.

The Queen of Mourning. Deep undercover, Nina Zenik risks discovery and death as she wages war on Fjerda from inside its capital. But her desire for revenge may cost her country its chance at freedom and Nina the chance to heal her grieving heart.

King. General. Spy. Together they must find a way to forge a future in the darkness. Or watch a nation fall.

An Imprint Book

Read all the books in the Grishaverse!

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy
(previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)
Shadow and Bone
Siege and Storm
Ruin and Rising

The Six of Crows Duology
Six of Crows
Crooked Kingdom

The King of Scars Duology
King of Scars
Rule of Wolves

The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic
The Severed Moon: A Year-Long Journal of Magic

Praise for the Grishaverse

“A master of fantasy.” —The Huffington Post
“Utterly, extremely bewitching.” —The Guardian
“The best magic universe since Harry Potter.” —Bustle
“This is what fantasy is for.” —The New York Times Book Review
“[A] world that feels real enough to have its own passport stamp.” —NPR
“The darker it gets for the good guys, the better.” —Entertainment Weekly
“Sultry, sweeping and picturesque. . . . Impossible to put down.” —USA Today
“There’s a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo’s original epic fantasy that sets it apart.” —Vanity Fair
“Unlike anything I’ve ever read.” —Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent
“Bardugo crafts a first-rate adventure, a poignant romance, and an intriguing mystery!” —Rick Riordan, bestselling author of the Percy Jackson series

In the highly-anticipated sequel to "King of Scars", Leigh Bardugo takes readers on a thrilling journey in the Grishaverse with "Rule of Wolves". Set in a war-ravaged Ravka, the story centers around Nikolai Lantsov, the charismatic king of Ravka, and Zoya Nazyalensky, the formidable Squaller.

With the Darkling's resurgence threatening the Grishaverse, Nikolai and Zoya must navigate treacherous political alliances, uncover ancient secrets, and face their own personal demons to save their kingdom. Bardugo's masterful storytelling weaves a tale of love, betrayal, and sacrifice as Nikolai struggles with the burden of his inherited power and Zoya grapples with her newfound role as a Grisha leader.

The book delves into the complexities of power and morality, exploring the consequences of unchecked ambition and the resilience of the human spirit in the face of adversity. Bardugo introduces captivating new characters and revisits beloved ones from previous installments in the Grishaverse, creating a rich and immersive tapestry of relationships and conflicts.

"Rule of Wolves" is a gripping conclusion to the King of Scars duology, offering a satisfying resolution while leaving readers eager for more adventures in the Grishaverse. Bardugo's evocative prose, intricate worldbuilding, and unforgettable characters make this a must-read for fans of fantasy and those seeking a captivating story of courage, sacrifice, and the indomitable strength of the human spirit.


608 pages
March 30, 2021